Districts In Bono And Their Capitals

By | March 16, 2022

The Bono region is one of Ghana’s sixteen regions. Bono East region and Ahafo region were formed as a result of the splitting of  Brong-Ahafo region.

The area was formed after the former Brong-Ahafo region was divided into the Ahafo region and the Bono East region. This was in keeping with a pledge Nana Akuffo Addo made during his 2016 campaign efforts. The newly constituted Ministry of Regional Reorganization and Development, led by Hon. Dan Botwe, was in charge of putting the preparations for the creation of this region into reality. The Brong Ahafo Region, as well as the Brong Ahafo Region Co-ordinating Council, have effectively ceased to exist (BARCC).

As a result, the Bono Regional Co-ordinating Council (BRCC) is a new organization that replaces the Bono Regional Co-ordinating Council (BRCC) in accordance with Article 255 of the 1992 constitution and Article 186 of the Local Governance Act, 2016 (Act 936 as Amended).

The regional capital is Sunyani, widely known as Ghana’s green city. Sunyani is the cleanest capital city in the country and a popular meeting venue since it is situated at the center of Ghana.

Bono Region shares a boundary with Savannah Region in the north, the Ghana-Côte d’Ivoire international border in the west, Bono East in the east, and Ahafo Region in the south.

According to the Ghana statistical service’s census of 2021, it has a population of roughly 1,208,649 people.

Tourist Sites In Bono

  • Bui National Park: it spans 1,821 kilometers and includes a section of the Black Volta River, is home to a variety of antelopes and birds. It is also notable for having a large population of hippopotamuses. Tourists can take a cruise around the National Park on the Black Volta River.
  • The Bui Dam: which found at the base of the Banda Mountains, was created to help Ghana meet its energy needs.
  • The Duasidan Monkey Sanctuary: located 10 kilometers southwest of Dormaa Ahenkro, is home to an uncommon Mona Monkey breed. As you approach their forest-like house, you are greeted by the presence of these monkeys. In the middle of the forest, bamboo trees form a canopy that acts as a resting place for guests. Monkeys can be seen dangling from tree limbs and peeling bananas that have been offered to them. The visitor will be able to observe how monkeys transport their young while swinging from the trees.

The newly formed Bono Region has 12 districts and its capitals (made up of 0 Metropolitan, 5 Municipal and 7 Ordinary Assemblies). The following are the districts you can find in Bono and their capitals.

1BandaBanda Ahenkro
2SunyaniSunyani Municipal
3Sunyani WestOdumase
6Berekum EastBerekum
7Berekum West Jinijini
8Dormaa Central Dormaa-Ahenkro
9Dormaa East Wamfie
10Dormaa West Nkrankwanta
11Jaman North Sampa
12Jaman South Drobo

Thank You for reading this post from Latest Ghana as online entertainment and news portal from Ghana. Don’t forget to recommend our site, Latest Ghana to your friends and family who might also profit from the information on our website and check out our other articles because we have more information to bring to you via your devices.

I believe you have any comments or suggestions to drop about this article, kindly make use of the comment box below and reach us for more discussion.

Latest Ghana is on the mission to promote anything latest from Ghana; Latest Entertainment News, General News, Sports, Insurance, Banks, Mortgage, Farming, Scholarship, Education and Schools Admission, Product pricing, Food, Fashion, Health, Business and more.

Leave a Reply